On Thursday 7 September 2017 the fourth Pro Bono Awards ceremony was held at The Social Kitchen at Exclusive Books in Hyde Park Corner.
There were 11 award categories, won by:

  • Refugee Law – Cliffe Dekker Hofmeyr Inc.
  • Housing Law – Sonkozi Ngalonkulu Attorneys
  • Estates Law – Mojelo Hlazo Attorneys
  • Community Advice Office – Ntsu Community Advice Office, Mabopane
  • Family Law – Riva Lange Attorney
  • Labour Law – Naledi Motsiri, Werksmans
  • Wills – Norton Rose Fulbright SA
  • Police Brutality – Candice Pillay, Hogan Lovells SA Inc.
  • Child Law – Suné Bosch, Ramsden Small Inc.
  • Advocate Award – Thulamela Group
  • Law Student at a University Law Clinic – Lutho Klaas, University of Fort Hare
  • Law Society of the Northern Provinces Award – Serialong Lebasa
  • Legal Aid South Africa Award – Khanyisa Ngobeni

Dali Mpofu with some of the ProBono.Org staff and friends

In addition, there were several Director’s Special Mentions:

  • Clarks Attorneys – for their willing availability and commitment
  • Reg Joubert – for his support at the Divorce Help Desk and children’s matters
  • Claire Thomson – for drafting wills and presenting at community workshops
  • Susan Harris – for her many years of commitment to help desks, cases and events
  • Leana Elliot of Klopper Jonker Attorneys – for assisting at the Palm Ridge Help Desk and other pro bono work
  • Patrick Bracher of Norton Rose Fulbright SA  – for hosting the Pro Bono Law radio programme on Radio Today for the past 11 years
  • Baker & McKenzie – for doing pro bono work for ProBono.Org
  • Hoossen Sader – for his availability to take on family law matters

We congratulate all the winners and thank our generous sponsors for supporting this acknowledgment of invaluable pro bono work.

For more information on COVID-19 and government regulation: Click here